Saturday, September 26, 2009

Our Hours are Changing!

Beginning on Sunday October 4th, Central Library will have new hours of operation. Our branch will now be open during the following hours:

Monday through Thursday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sunday: 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Why are our hours changing? Well, The Calcasieu Parish Public Library is introducing a change in service hours for all 14 locations. The changes are a result of the 2008-2012 Bridges for Calcasieu Strategic Plan. This plan is a culmination of a 7-month effort by a panel of 20 stakeholders in Calcasieu Parish, coordinating with National Library Consultants Sandra Nelson and June Garcia, all levels of library staff, and approved by the Library Board of Control in July, 2008.

Acting on the Organizational Structure Initiative to conduct a review of service hours, research was done in 2008 and 2009 in which hourly checkouts, computer usage and walk-ins were tracked to determine when and how citizens used the library facilities.The changes indicate how patrons use the libraries. The hours of the past were decided before the internet revolution, which provides access to the library resources and services 24/7. Library users can now manage their accounts 24/7 by phone or internet.

The new hours reflect a 20.5 hour increase in service across the board, and standardize opening and closing times. Any questions or concerns about the changes may be directed to library administration by calling 721-7147 or complete this Contact Us Form.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Meet the Author!

Catherine Sharpe and Julie Bryson are the authors of Eternity's Account: Stones of Fire, a christian fantasy/adventure novel. The second novel in this series is set to be released this October. Catherine and Julie will join us a the Central Library on Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 6:30pm to talk about their novels and meet with our community.

So anyone who likes stories such as The Lord or the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia please join us in the upstairs meeting room at Central and bring a friend!

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Genre Spotlight: Science Fiction

Ender in Exile by Orson Scott Card
In case you missed it, earlier this year Orson Scott Card released Ender in Exile, a novel that takes place directly after the events of his award winning book, Ender’s Game. This book details the time Ender Wiggin spent as the governor of a human colony founded on a world whose civilization he helped to destroy.
Anathem by Neal Stephenson
Once every ten years the gates of the decenarian math open for apert, a ten day event in which the cloistered fras and suurs of the maths go out into the world and discover what has happened in the ten years since the previous apert. After this apert however, world events occur that require the knowledge and skills of these avout. What follows is a whirlwind ride across continents and space in order to save the planet of Arbre.

The Ashes of Worlds by Kevin J Anderson
Published last year, this is the final novel in the Saga of the Seven Suns series. The series begins with Hidden Empire, where humans are busy with the task of colonizing and exploiting the known universe. To their knowledge, there are only two alien races: the extinct Klikiss and the Ildirans, who have helped humans in their endeavors. Lives will change when humans experimenting with Klikiss technology awaken a dormant alien species intent upon war.

Steal Across the Sky by Nancy Kress
A race of aliens appears one day and tells the world that many years ago they wronged mankind. For atonement, they wish to give twenty-one volunteers a tour of seven planets to witness what they’ve done. What those volunteers discover will change our civilization.

The Walls of the Universe by Paul Melko
A high school senior is approached by a doppelganger of himself and is offered a device that will allow him to travel to other dimensions. It isn’t until he’s already used the device that he discovers the catch: the device is only one way.
Winds of Dune by Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson
These authors continue Frank Herbert’s incredible Dune saga. This novel follows Dune Messiah, first published in 1969.